The 77th General Convention of the Episcopal Church

July 5-12, 2012


Highlights and Overview of Actions Taken

Bishop Dietsche's Reflections Following General Convention

Deputies' Reflections Following General Convention

Bishop Sisk's Letter Permitting Same-Sex Marriages Starting September 1, 2012, with Bishop Dietsche's Supporting Letter

Convention Wrap Up from Episcopal News Service


General Convention Media Hub (All the news from Episcopal Digital Network - external site)

Official General Convention Site (external link)

Deputies, Alternates, & Other Official Diocesan Convention Attendees

Live Resolution Tracking

The General Convention of the Episcopal Church meets every three years. It consists of two houses: the House of Bishops, and the House of Deputies. All bishops in the Episcopal Church, whether active or retired, are entitled to a seat in the House of Bishops, which is chaired by the Presiding Bishop. Each diocese sends 4 lay and 4 ordained deputies (chosen by electors who are themselves first elected by the parishes), to the House of Deputies,which is chaired by the President of the House (Bonnie Anderson).

Each house meets and votes separately. To be enacted, resolutions must pass both houses in the same language. In the House of Deputies, each diocese has two votes - one lay and one clerical. The vote of each group is determined by polling its members: a tied deputation vote is technically "divided," and effectively counts as a "no." It is possible, therefore, for resolutions supported by a numerical majority of deputies to fail in the voting.

Activities in the two houses of the convention are only the tip of the iceberg. Much of the work of convention is done in legislative committees, to which resolutions proposed for discussion are referred. Legislative committees consider, amalgamate and perfect these resolutions before presenting them on the floor. They hold hearings on legislation at which deputies, registered alternates and registered visitors may speak.


See Also: